IMG_0658This is my first trip to San Diego, but already I know that it will not be my last. My first morning here I walked down 5th Avenue and found what I believe to be the best café outside of Paris. Le Parfait Paris, a very sleek, modern café in the Gaslamp District of San Diego is not to be missed.

I must say walking up to the café at 8:30am on a Friday morning with only one other person in the café set my tail and paws quivering with disappointment. Was it that bad? I decided to push my apprehension aside and give it a try. I’m glad I did.

Let me just say here and now that I am a coffee and pastry snob. Yes, I admit and embrace that part of myself. What passes for pastries in this country is pathetic. Le Parfait Paris doesn’t fall into the Americanized version thankfully. This place has without doubt the best French pastries outside of Paris or at least the best that I have ever had.

I order a cappuccino, which was perfectly made and delicious with a thick layer of foamy goodness on top. It was a bit small for my coffee habit and a bit expensive so I had to forego a second one. I ordered an almond croissant that was warm, flaky, delicate, and delicious. A perfect pair it was, and I will be back every morning during my stay.

Do yourself a favor and get to Le Parfait Paris, place your order, find yourself a small table, close your eyes and be transported to Paris.

Online at: http://leparfaitparis.com
Reservations Accepted: No

Food: 5 Paws
Service 5 Paws

Overall Score

ShatasSignature_2-5

With love from my dog bowl to yours…Happy eating!

Shata