Tags

,

guerrero-street-san-francisco-arc-005After a six and a half hour flight, the wait for luggage at SFO, and the cab ride to the Mission, I was ready for some good food. My concern was that it was a Friday night 8:30. I decided the best plan of action was just to start walking and see where I ended up. And that plan worked to my advantage.

I’ve walked, or been walked depending on one’s perspective, by The Liberties more times than I care to think about and never once stopped by. Why? I have no reason except to say that I get stuck in my food ruts. They were, of course, busy, but they were more than happy to find me a seat. Thank you!

As it was coming up at midnight East Coast time, I didn’t want anything too heavy though the bangers and mash sounded good. I decided to go with their grilled cheese sandwich, a bowl of tomato soup, and an order of tater tots. Oh of course I ordered a tequila and tonic. My new favorite cocktail, for those not in the know, but I digress, back to the food.

The tater tots were cooked to perfection. The tots were golden brown and crisp on the outside and soft and tender on the inside and served with a side of chipotle mayo, which was spicy and warm and just matched the tots in perfection. The grilled cheese sandwich on sourdough bread was again golden and crisp on the outside, and oh so cheesy on the inside. To add more yummy in my tummy, the tomato soup was thick without being chunky. Topped with parsley and croutons. It was the absolute perfect meal.

Oh and their cocktails, at least my tequila and tonic was top notch.

If you’re at the edge of the Mission and hungry for some great pub food, The Liberties is the place to go. From the friendly service to the great food and drinks, you won’t find a better place in the surrounding blocks.

Online at: http://www.theliberties.com
Reservations Accepted: Yes via OpenTable

Food: 3.5 Paws
Service: 3.5 Paws

Overall Score

ShatasSignature_3.5

 With love from my dog bowl to yours….Happy eating.

Shata